Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

Several wildlife populations are facing an increased likelihood of being wiped out completely, with more groups regularly being added to this list. The purpose of this essay is to investigate the reasons leading to this mass extinction and what strategies and solutions can be implemented to prevent the total disappearance of these species.

The greatest threat to animals is mankind. Over the last few centuries, the rising population and conversely, the need for more resources and space have led to habitat destruction and loss of territories that were previously home to these creatures. Deforestation has removed hundreds of thousands of kilometres of previously thriving forests and jungles which were home to the ape family, reptilians and amphibians.

Additionally, the low regard for animal life has had a significant effect on animals as groups are hunted for sport or for the resources they provide. The Rhinocerous in Southern Africa has almost disappeared entirely due to poachers chasing the wealth they can obtain from selling the ivory horn. Overfishing can also adversely decrease the marine life found in the ocean. Gigantic fishing trawlers that repeatedly exploit the same areas are not only reducing the number of fish but damaging the underwater ecosystem for all sea life.

As humans are largely responsible for their demise, we should be the ones encumbered with the high-stakes operation of rejuvenating these shrinking numbers. Governments and lawmakers should focus on creating protected zones where fauna is allowed to flourish undisturbed but still enjoyed as with the example of national parks and heritage sites. Stricter rules and regulations should be enforced on industries such as fishing rotation in different regions to allow for repopulation and breeding during quiet periods.

In conclusion, the ever-growing endangered and vulnerable species list is of great concern as this negatively affects the diverse ecology found across the globe today. By devising and implementing harsher sentences for lawbreakers and nurturing certain territories this could salvage wildlife population figures.