Some students prefer to take a gap year after graduating high school, to work or travel. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

More and more pupils taking a gap year for work or travel rather than continuing their studies. Personally, taking a gap year has more benefits overwhelming disadvantages.

On the one hand, students who having a year for work or travel will have a boarder perspective as well as gain more life experiences. For example, young employees work in a business or company will equip their entrepreneurial skills such as communication skills, collaborative skills and time management. Moreover, employers can hire a group of enthusiastic young interns who ready for any challenging tasks.

On the other hand, after taking a gap year, many students face a loss of momentum in study which means they will slower than their peers in graduating. It can leads to mental health problems such as peer pressure and lost motivation. Additionally, young people can find it hard to adapt to university life and its system of operation after a delay.

In conclusion, a gap year will bring more advantages outweigh detrimental affects. It also depends on the way that students make use of their gap year.