Some students prefer to take a gap year after graduating high school, to work or travel. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Taking a year break between high school and university for employment and travel is a common idea among today’s students. While others view it as a distraction that delays academic progress, some people see it as an investment for personal growth.

On the one hand, for many students, a gap year can provide valuable life experience that cannot be found in the classroom. A majority of students tend to choose a university major, just for external pressure, without truly understanding that field. By having a year off while working, they can discover their passion, and also choose a major with confidence. Furthermore, after a long and continuous years spent in school, the students probably feel exhausted, and transition immediately results in burnout. A temporary break allows them to recharge their batteries, making them enter university with energy, focus, and maturity. Moreover, taking a trip or managing a workplace builds independence, and improves communication skill and other life skills.

On the other hand, a gap year, without planning, easily turns into a waste of time. If a year lacks proper plans, it is just a wasted opportunity, leading to an unhealthy lifestyle with poor habits. In addition, one of the biggest risks of taking a year off is losing the habit of studying. Some students find it difficult to return into the routine of assignments, exams, and lectures after a year of freedom. It is also likely to increase difficulty adapting back to classrooms. Furthermore, while working saves money, traveling can be extremely expensive. Without careful expenses or saving, a gap year can drain family financial resources and let the student in debt before university begins. Consequently, it leads them to delay or leave off higher education entirely.

In conclusion, despite these drawbacks, the opportunity of personal growth, and discovery of our passion makes a year off an valuable investment. Therefore, I believe the advantages of taking a gap year far outweigh any disadvantages.