"Some think colleges should teach moral values and ethics, while others believe this is the responsibility of parents. Discuss both views and give your opinion."

Some believe that colleges should teach moral values and ethics because they think that this is a place where a person can truly grow and learn, as education significantly shapes an adult. Colleges can provide a structured environment where people can expand their knowledge, embracing not just academic subjects but also ethics and manners. College life is a new phase for a student; they meet new people and get to know their culture, which refines their moral values by showing respect towards every culture.

While, on the other hand, some believe that it is the responsibility of parents. A person learns things from their parents first, as they are the primary source of development for their children. Moral values are deeply related to cultural backgrounds and religious beliefs, which are typically nurtured within the family. The home environment is where fundamental values like honesty, respect, empathy, and personal responsibility are first taught.

According to my opinion, both are equally important in evolving a person’s moral values and ethics. Parents lay the foundational groundwork for moral values and ethics, while colleges have a unique opportunity and a responsibility to build upon this foundation. Parents provide the emotional context for understanding right from wrong. They teach them to learn from their mistakes and to be polite. Colleges can refine and broaden a student’s ethical understanding. Specialized courses in ethics can be offered by colleges to enhance moral values, as this will expose students to a wider range of ideas.