Some think most crime is the result of circumstances e.g. poverty and other social problems. Others believe that most crime is caused by people who are bad by nature. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As crime rates proliferate inexorably in recent years, finding a primary driving force behind turning an individual into a criminal has emerged as a general topic of interest. However, people are still divided on whether this cause is attributed to social issues and poverty or innate characteristics. In this answer, I will look at the reasoning of both camps before explaining I lean towards the former.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people subscribe to the view that a criminal is the result of a person’s nature. A bulk of the aggressive children are more prone to embark on a career of crime than well-mannered ones. Such behaviors like bullying their classmates at school or undesired traits like laziness and selfishness could breed would-be criminals who are willing to take a shortcut to earn money or illegal activities in the future. Psychological studies have also suggested that there is a correlation between genetic elements and evil people. Not only the criminal’s physical but also mental abilities are biologically passed down to their offspring and then coerce them to be another offender.

On the other hand, while the contribution of human nature in forming a person who commits a crime is wholly warranted, it would be imprudent to underestimate the social criteria. The most commonly cited social problem is unemployment, as evidenced by how innumerable people work illegally to earn their living. On a more profound level, money which is one of basic needs cannot be discounted. For instance, without money causing neither enough food nor entertainment, human survival instincts will take control of people’s behaviors and encourage folk to make unethical decisions to meet their needs, despite the tough penalties. Research has also shown that violence, robbery and sexual offenses are more prevalent in income-deprived areas.

In conclusion, although both viewpoints are justifiable, I would contend that social issues and poverty are indeed the primary motives behind crime.