Some think scientists should be allowed to send messages into space to communicate with other life forms while others believe this is too dangerous. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

The possible existence of extraterrestrial civilisations continues to arouse our curiosity. In this regard, while some believe in the need of transmitting signals to outer space to make contact with these unknown cultures, there are also those in my person opposing this idea due to potential risks associated with it.

To substantiate the importance of this initiative, its sympathisers can put forward motives, which are anything, but selfless. The main reason is the prospect of finding analogues to our home planet. We have been endlessly and carelessly depleting the Earth’s natural resources, playing the main role in climate change by polluting it and heading to the point to completely destroy it, ergo, why not inflict the same on other planets now? Furthermore, there is an alluring surmise that the contact with aliens may lead to knowledge exchange. Assuming that the level of their progress surpasses that of ours, it is difficult not to indulge in an attempt to establish reciprocal communication in order to assimilate fruits of their civilization. The question lingering to be answered here is whether it is worth it and whether it is not a suicide mission.

It is ironic to observe the calls to explore possibilities to contact extraterrestrials, as if we solved all our Earthly issues and reached complete enlightenment. Our sense to set priorities in order must be completely twisted, in case we choose anything over putting an end to global hunger, poverty and wars. In this sense, the more financial resources would be allocated to matters of lesser importance, the more pressing issues would remain at risk of being underfunded. In addition to this, the Age of Discovery is a quintessential embodiment of what and how much contact with foreign guests can cost. Not only did this contact lead to the embezzlement of newly discovered lands’ riches, but also caused massacre and enslavement of natives. Our not that far history, therefore, manifests that this idea is nothing more than a Pandora’s box.

In conclusion, to communicate with hypothetical creatures from other planets is to only do mankind a disserSome think scientists should be allowed to send messages into space to communicate with other life forms while others believe this is too dangerous. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.vice.