Some think that governments should support retired people financially while others believe they should take care of themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Currently, many people believe that authorities should provide financial aid for retired people whereas some think they should look after themselves. This idea needs to be discussed further and I will state my opinion in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, it is understandable why many people believe that people after retirement should be supported by governments fanancially. First, receiving financial aid is their right because most of them make certain contributions to society through work and taxes. To be more specific, when they were of working-age, they earned their salary, paid taxes, and spent money on commercial trade, which enriches the national budget. Additionally, retired people are elderly who stop going to work but they still need to sustain their life. They still need to pay the bills, taxes on goods and services, meanwhile they’re no longer earning their salary.

On the other hand, retired people should not rely on governmental assistance as not all of them need financial aid, but other kinds of support may benefit them more. Firstly, the authorities may spend money on devoloping material facilities such as building hospitals, nursing homes, etc. They can also offer the elderly care services and any social issues, for instance, safety and security, heathcare, environmetal pollution, etc. Futhermore, each person in society should save their own money to prepare for their retirement. They also have fanancial asisstance from their family and relatives. As a result, it is not advisable for the government to spend amounts of money to support the elderly.

In conclusion, I believe the government is responsible for taking care of retired people, but many sorts of support may benefit them better and relatives could also help them with related-money assistance.