Some think that governments should support retired people financially while others believe they should take care of themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that the elderly should receive support from governments while others believe they should depend on themselves. I firmly agree that governments have obligations to support their people during old ages as it can benefit the society as a whole in numerous ways including acting as a stimulant in increasing the life-expectancy and the sense of satisfaction among the populace.

To begin with, one of the main reasons why governments should support retired people is that this approach has plenty of advantages. Not only is it beneficial for the elderly, but also it is in favor of their families. Not having to work in older ages, the elderly can have more time to spend with their loved ones. The lesser time they spend on work, the more free time they get to spend on other leisure activities such us doing exercise. As a result, this approach eventually elevates the life-expectancy for the old people, Increasing the happiness and sense of satisfaction. For instance, my grandfather, who retired at the age of 65, spent 20 years of his life under pensionary support from a public life insurance company. Most of the gratifying memories that his grandchildren have about him happens to be after his retirement.

Another reason for supporting retired people is the fact that they are unable to work efficient at old ages. Their discomfort and lack of energy would not allow them to perform onerous tasks. Were they as agile and vibrant as they used to be, they would manage to perform more demanding tasks. A suitable example for this fact is old athletes, namely The Rock, who once was a role model to millions of people; However, as he became older, he lost his main ability and consequently, his reputation over time. Nowadays, he is just an ordinary actor.

In conclusion, I believe the governments’ support is crucial not only for the elderly, but also the sake of the society. It eradicates the feeling of depression occurring after retirement and increases the overall sense of satisfaction among the older people. It also assist them to cope with the disabilities followed by getting old.