Some think that people should not change their jobs while others think they should because it brings advantages for themselves, companies and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, there has been a dispute over job hopping, discussing whether people should not change their job or this could benefit the employee as well as the firm and society. I strongly agree with the latter, for the reasons provided below.

Admittedly, there are good reasons to say that people should stay at the same job. One clear reason is that changing their occupation is time-consuming. This is because to be well-equipped with intensive knowledge in a novice field requires a great deal of time and effort, which can take up at least a year or more. Instead, if the employees allocate that amount of time for acquiring new knowledge to excel in their job, this could contribute more to the development of the company, in tandem with a higher career prospect for such workers.

However, there are stronger reasons to believe that being a jack of all trades is beneficial not only for that person but also for the company and society. Chief of these is that switching jobs can identify their hidden talents in a way that doing a permanent job cannot. To be more specific, working in different faculties or fields enable workers to seize the opportunity to exert their strengths, compared with working in the same field for a long time where people may have a little chance of trying new things. Consider Tran Thanh, a top-ranked comedian in Viet Nam, as an example. Before being one of the most successful comedians as he is now, he had worked as a MC or a dancer until he participated in a comedy contest in 2014, which paved the way for his current job and transformed his whole life. As for the company, hiring a job-hopper with a diverse set of skills means that he or she could be flexible in many positions and thus this could save time for training for some kinds of tasks.

In conclusion, while people believe that changing jobs is not necessary, I believe that this could bring significant advantages to the workers themselves as well as the company.