Some universities have started offering micro-credentials instead of traditional degrees. What are the advantages and disadvantages of micro-credentials compared to traditional degrees? Which is a better fit for the current job market?

In recent years individuals are likely to choose short time online courses rather than applying for the universities and getting a degree there. This issue has benefits and drawbacks. This essay will discuss both.

On the one hand, with the rapid growth of the internet, lifestyle of most people changed significantly. As an example, we can consider the after covid span. A large number of citizens were left without jobs because of the lockdown. As a result, people started to look for some new opportunites in the internet. Meanwhile, it was also a chance for web scammers to create their own numerous training programmes. So, half of the short online courses are provided by people who barely know something in that sphere or they do not have right certification to teach other people. This can be the main massive reason why getting this type of education may affect negatively on the society.

On the other hand, great amount of students do not have enough motivation to go to the university. This happens due to several reasons. For instance, some people believe, that the half of the disciplines taught in the universities are not necessary. It means that, wasting 3 years instead of getting the same knowledge for couple of months is more reasonable. This also means, that because of the short period of time learners have further motivation to study.

Although this problem has advantages such as the motivation factor and the ability to gain a new profession in short time, it has a big disadvantage that outweighs all the pluses. Commercial business of different individuals on the internet is not as affective as a real education in the universities that are been taught since years. It will require much time for ‘micro-credentials’ to be on the same level as university education.