Some universities have started offering micro-credentials instead of traditional degrees. What are the advantages and disadvantages of micro-credentials compared to traditional degrees? Which is a better fit for the current job market?

Micro-credential programs are short term education that allow for quick building of skills. Since universities have started providing more of this programs, people are wondering if they are more signifcant than the traditional way.

The advantages of micro-credential studies are numerous and some of them include an increase in work force of a country and decrease in financial burdens on the students. When students take this short courses, they can make quickly progress in their preferred skill while in the comfort of theirhomes. They are also able to avoid the exorbitant amount for lesson fees required to acquire a degree. For instance, a business student will need to complete a required number of years to be given a degrees to practice. Meanwhile, a micro-credential student can focus on learning skills that can provide job opportunities for them without having to leave their home.

Although, this quick studies make it easier and faster to learn. It can not provide all the required knowledge that one needs to advance in their career. A student who has gone through the tradional means will have more in-deepth knowledge than online students. For instance, a pharmacist that has gone through five years of studies has more knowledge in his field than those who study online. In other words, the tradtional means are able to produce student with greater potential than others. These set of students will have more preference when look for work.

To sum up, the micro-creditenal students are able to enter the workforce earlier and develop more skills but the tradional students have more potential than the latter.