Some universities now offer their on the internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development.

With the evolution of technology, many universities chooseare choosing online teaching as an alternative approach for most curriculums, instead of the conventional method. In my opinion, I view this statement somewhat favorably because online teaching can help students to learn anywhere that is faraway from school and increase schools’ economy; however, students may be find it more difficult because of no face-to-face interaction.

On the one hand, the negative effect that online education can bring is decreasing the amount of frequency of face-to-face communication. By having less time or no time for direct interaction, students can not understand lessons well and maybe misunderstand the solution of any problems that they are facing. Furthermore, the relationships between they and other students or instructors is hard to be formed, results in bad teamwork activities performance. For example, in my school, e-learning is applied in many courses, especially fundamental subjects, the overall result of final term test marginally dropped, fell within the mid-range. So, online teaching may be negative in some cases, from having less direct interaction to formation and maintaining the relationships with others.

On the other hand, besides those negative efforts, positive efforts can be seen in replacing traditional method with online learning. First, it will be an advantage for students in other provinces or even other countries to learn from a distant place. This can lead to not have to take more time to go to school and spend more money on other expenditures such as living places, transports. Second, universities’ economy would be growth since the costs for maintaining and upgrading the infrastructure can be reduced. Not only the costs for the infrastructure, the number of students attending schools will increase overtime, so that schools can earn more money. For instance, many universities from my country likes HUST, NEU have applied e-learning, their revenue increased significantly as they expanded the limited number of students from 1000 to 5000 students. By having economic growth and being a benefit for remote students, online teaching can be seen as a positive change for most schools.

In conclusion, I see this statement partly positive; they can be an advantage for students from remote areas and school’s revenue, albeit they decrease the amount of frequency of direct interaction and relationships.