Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development

Recently, in many nations around the globe, particularly developing countries, people from countryside are moving to the city in masses, resulting in decreased population in remote areas. From my own perspective, the negative sides of this outstrip the positives.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that moving to the cities will bring benefits to individuals. The most important advantage is career opportunities. When relocating in cities, citizens have higher chance of finding a job which suit their own abilities since labour market in cities is definitely is wider and more diverse than in rural areas. Similarly, children and teenagers will get higher and better education in metropolis than in their countryside. On national level, masses moving to big towns can accelerate urbanization rates and boost the country’s economy. Hence, there are still some positive affects that this development has had.

On the other hand, migrating to the cities will cause more problems on social and individual scale as well. While moving to cities in appropriate number of residents will be beneficial, moving in masses can be a burden on the cities’ infrastructure such as roads, healthcare and educational system and housing. Furthermore, working environments in metropolis are really competitive. Therefore, if people can not cope with the workload or keep up with others, they may be given the boot and become unemployed, which eventually leads to higher crime rates in cities as they will find every way to make a living. In addition, because much of the population move to the cities, land in countryside will be left without maintenance or care, consequencing upon waste of land and abandoned land. This will have a chain effect, causing food crisis and slow economic growth in the rural.

In conclusion, relocating in cities in masses will bring more negative rather than positive development, including influence on individual and social level. That is why government, authorities and policy makers need to take action to handle the problem.