Some young people look forward to a year of traveling or working, ‘a gap year’, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own experience.

Young adults currently have a tendency to take a gap year to gain experiences before starting their study in universities. This decision can not only bring benefits but also have negative impacts on their lives. This essay will provide some information on these two aspects.

To begin with, taking a year off allows the young to broaden their horizons through working or traveling, and also relax their minds. Firstly, youngsters can acquire new knowledge, develop soft skills such as communication, cooperation, problem-solving skills, and so on. As an illustration, it is really essential for young people to develop these skills when approaching more knowledgeable colleges at the workplaces, or dealing with inevitable problems when experiencing cultural shock at a brand new place. In addition, it is necessary for youngsters to relax and enjoy their lives after graduating from school. In fact, when they are not under pressure about the future, they can realize what their strengths and weaknesses to get ready to start a higher study.

On the other hand, a gap year can bring some drawbacks in their lives which are peer pressure and waste of time. After enjoying a year off, it is challenging for young adults to catch up with their peers at the university, discouraging them in pursuing their study. In fact, many people have neglected to continue to study due to that reason. Moreover, it can be the waste of time if the young have not gained any knowledge but got used to a life of pleasure. For instance, when a person has enjoyed a long holiday without being aware of their future, they might give up all the plans made, and experience a failure in their life.

In sum, taking a gap year before studying at the universities provides ample chances to expand the horizon and gain useful knowledge in life, but it can also have negative influences for young people such as the peer pressure or the waste of time.