Some young people look forward to a year of traveling or working, ‘a gap year’, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own experience.

Many young people are excited about taking a “gap year” to travel before starting work or university, seeing it as a valuable opportunity to broaden their experiences. But others believe that this is a type of waste of time. I firmly argue that take a travel is more beneficial because it leads not to only cultural exchange but also it can improve mood.

On the one hand, some individuals think that youth should not take a gap year and, because they consider traveling during this time is a pointless activity. They argue that after school, young people should decide whether to work or study, and after that, they start their work or university without interruption. They believe that time is the most vital thing in the younghood and whatever they start sooner, working or studying, they will achieve results sooner.

On the other hand, other people, including myself, think that travelling during the gap year has many benefit points, for example, firstly travelling leads to cultural exchange, that is to say that, youth can know better other culture and it teaches them how to behave and even control situation. Moreover, journey to other land marks can enhance mood and reduce school stress, and finally as result, start working or attending university with a more positive mindset.

In conclusion, while many individuals argue that take a trip during the gap year has many positive effects on young people before stating a job or attending university like gain some knowledge about other culture and gain a positive mindset, others believe that travelling during this time is a time-consuming and it is better that youth start their job or go university immediately.