Some young people look forward to a year of traveling or working, ‘a gap year’, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own experience.

“Gap year” is always known as a conflict topic. While some people think experience of the world is an important factor contributing to their future perspectives, others say that is an unneccessary activity. I firmly believe in that gap year is a time-space that everyone should experience in their lives.

On hand, today’s busy lifestyle prevents individuals to witness the world beatiues, by putting them in stressful situations and heavy workloads. And commonly held view is that, young people should not miss their chance to discover this spectecular earth, travelling various countries, seeing different lifestyles. Aditionally, it is not all about the experience, it is also about the network and having fun time. As a consequence of meeting different people, young individuals have a chance to expand their network and maybe even communication skills.

On the other hand, nowadays, sadly, with the global economic crisis, poverty rose sharpenly. Consequently, this affected people thoughts about “gap year” negatviely, since the cost of a 1 year holiday can be used efficiently other aspects of life. Furhermore, the danger which may occur in some countries, a risk for young people’s lives. For instance, according to the reports, %2,3 of international travellers are murdered in African countries. Another common view is that, 1 year travel may cause individuals’s future life negatively, wasting large time instead of working and saving money for their future lives.

In conclusion, it is apparent that there is both negative and positive sides of gap year. And in my opinion, as human lives once, they should see the world as much as possible before they lose their encouragments and energies.