Some young people look forward to a year of traveling or working, ‘a gap year’, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own experience.

Taking a gap year before starting university or entering the workforce has become more and more popular in recent years. Some young people view this as an opportunity to pursue their passion, explore their interest, some want to gain new experiences, expand their horizons and improve their social skills. In contrast, others see it as a time-wasting expense that prevents them from achieving their educational or professional goals.

First of all, a gap year helps them have more time to pursue their passion. For example, a person realizes that it’s time for them to pursue their passion, or at that moment, there is a great opportunity that if he misses it, he will not be able to fulfill their passion. Moreover, those who are feeling vague, unable to orient or find a right path for themselves take a gap year to explore their interest that’s good for their goals. This experience can be an excellent way to expand one’s horizons, gain new experiences and cultural awareness. For instance, when someone travels all over the world, they might go to a variety of places and meet many different people, which can widen their knowledge of the culture of many regions, build their problem-solving skills and learn a new language. It can also be a chance for people to volunteer or take part in internships that might be relevant in their future employment and gain valuable experience.

Besides the great advantages that make people feel excited, it is undeniable that the gap year also has disadvantages. It is a waste of time and money. For instance, finding the passion takes a long time and some people take years just to find their passion. But in the end, they realize that they don’t even know what they really like. Another example is traveling all over the world is good but it also wastes a lot of money, so some people may not be able to afford a gap year. Moreover, meeting many different cultures can make them confused. Because getting tickets and insurance, sorting out visas and accommodation – all before the journey has even begun. For many, a gap year is the first introduction to solo travel, or taking on life without ‘guardrails’. Uncertainty is often accompanied by stress, and a gap year is full of uncertainty. On the other hand, those who take a gap year could feel left behind because while their friends are graduating and pursuing their life goals, they still stand at the same levels, which can cause some mental issues such as: stress, depression and so on.

In conclusion, the value of a gap year depends on the individual’s circumstances and goals. Taking a gap year can be a valuable experience for young people, but it is not for everyone. From my point of view, the drawbacks of taking a gap year overcome its benefits.