Space exploration is much too expensive and the money should be spent on more important things. What is your opinion?

Several advanced and developing countries have recently invested billions of dollars in space research, driven by a desire to discover life on other planets and galaxies. As a result, it is a time-consuming and tedious process that costs a fortune. Some argue, however, that space exploration is a waste of time and money and that the funds could be better spent on other issues affecting the planet. Rather than investing money in space exploration, I believe the best way to spend money is to help improve the living standards of underdeveloped countries.

To begin with, space exploration is a prohibitively expensive endeavour. How many ever benefits science may have bestowed on mankind, spending resources on space exploration and determining whether life exists there is a waste of time because the brilliant minds searching for water on Mars could use their intelligence to find better ways to power humanity’s insatiable desire for energy, feed the world’s starving population, and improve living standards on Earth. Furthermore, space exploration has no immediate advantages, and many of the ‘advancements’ brought forth by space exploration are irrelevant to everyday life.

Besides, human needs should always take precedence as humanity is the most critical priority. There are countless people in need of financial assistance and the environment which needs to be taken care of. As a result, instead of investing money in robots or sending spaceships to other planets, money should be focused on helping people and nature. Several impoverished countries are confronted with substantial obstacles in the areas of health, education, and employment, resulting in poverty. Furthermore, global warming and climate change pose a danger to human life on the planet. Thus, money spent on space travel would be better spent on these remarkable concerns, which would help to build a more stable environment for people on Earth.

However, proponents of space exploration argue that investing billions of dollars to find unsolved mysteries on other planets is an intriguing task as it allows them to gain invaluable knowledge and discover many technologies. These people also believe that space exploration could only be an alternative way to escape human extinction in case living conditions become unsustainable on Earth. In contrast, I believe that millions invested on space exploration can be used to solve the prevailing problems existing on Earth.

To sum up, Although successful space exploration may provide unquestionable improvements to people’s lives if it is invested with an exorbitant amount, I believe space exploration is a waste of time, and effort and that its funding could be better used to address existing problems like global warming and climatic change. Why waste money on space exploration when we could be improving our own planet, where humans presently live?