Sports can bring world peace. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that one of the factors of world peace is sport. Granted some people believe in the power of sport, I strongly disagree that sport play pivotal role of world in building peace due to certain conflicts that may arise during such tournaments. In my view, deeper and more complex factors such as education, economic stability, and cultural development play a far greater role in achieving global peace.

One of the main reasons why people believe sport may bring world peace is associated with the international cooperation that is to place sport at the service of humankind, contributing to building a peaceful and better world through sport. Global events such as the Olympic Games have the power to bring humanity, in all its diversity, together. Thus, many fans build strong relationships as they may travel to the host country in order to cheer for athletes .

However, sport is less likely to bring peace to the world. International sports events might offer serious drawbacks to the community. The nationalism, for example, which can cause violence such as racism and riots in the stadium between extreme fans, some fans may behave inappropriately, showing disrespect toward the other culture and traditions. During major football tournaments like the UEFA or the FIFA World Cup, there have been numerous reports of fans engaging in racist chants or clashing with other fans. Such activities not only harm the spirit of sport but can also deteriorate cooperation between countries.

Furthermore, world peace is a much more complex issue that depends on various factors such as a country’s economy, cultivation, education, etc., which lead to world peace. Unlike sport events, which might harm the spirit of society, these elements may bring long-term peace and stability. For example, investing in education plays a role in preparing global citizens, much less improving literacy on a global scale, or a strong economy can decrease the level of poverty and conflicts. Therefore, there are more factors than sport that potentially improve the world situation.

In conclusion, although sport has the potential to improve international relations, achieving world peace requires more than athletic competition. In my opinion, peace is built through economic growth, cultural understanding, and access to quality education, not through sports, which often reveal divisions and disrespectful behavior among fans.