Students at school and university have to take too many tests and exams. These tests make it harder to teach and harder to learn and put students under unnecessary pressure. Is this a fair comment?

There is an issue about the quantity of the assessments done at educational institutions. Some people think that they are unnecessary much, impede the learning process and elevate the stress levelon students. I firmly believe that tests only facilitate the learning and evaluation procedure.

Firstly, tests are the most basic knowledge checking method. They can cover only new topics or the whole academic year. This flexibility helps to make easy to complying tests and changing the content with no trouble. In addition, it brings opportunity for receiving feedback and working on the mistakes for mastering on topic. For instance, when students take only final exam they will not have much chance to get to know their mistakes, and some doubts generate in their minds on their knowledge. Moreover, it is perfect way for saving time during the term. Instructors sometimes tend to give tasks or projects instead of tests. However, preparing presentation takes a lot of time and students only focus on the one topic.

In terms of stress level, the more students participate in tests, the more they escape from this problem. As I mentioned, when teachers give project, students should present it, which is more stressful process than the testing. Additionally, the given time in exams is actually for revealing potential of students, so assessments also escalate the speed of thinking and enhance learners cognitively.

In conclusion, testing should not be considered as a pressure for leamers, yet it is developing strategy in learning and teaching process.