Students leave high school without learning how to manage money. what are the reasons and how to fix it?

Dropping school out without having a fully formed financial managing skill among students is a pressing issue nowadays. There are several reasons that make teenagers leave the educational system and not be able to manage their money such as the lack of constant exposure to practical lessons or even having a valid family background also partly contributes to increasing this phenomenon. This essay will discover the main reasons and some potential solutions to solve this problem.

Regarding the reasons why the tendency of students dropping high school but are unaware of financial tracking skills is rising, the deficiency of constant exposure of practical lessons at school is considered and the ability of family financial reliance are considered causing this issue in the teenage population. First and foremost, nowadays, students mostly learn through books which are called theoretical knowledge. They are usually offered lessons full of notions and verbal lectures with no realistic experiences, which are considered a misconception in teaching. For example, in Vietnam, highschoolers are mechanically taught by slides showing or reading books and beside that, they mostly concentrate on volcanic subjects such as mathematics or physics rather than spending some time researching and diving deeper into financial topics. Hence, they are rarely tutored to attain skills such as saving money or tracking money flow through the process of trial and error. Turning to the second reason, some people are born blessed with a family that they can financially rely on without minding about having the cognition of money managing skill. The particular group of people with the mindset of a lifetime spending their parents money, they usually drop high school with the thought that they shall indeed be wealthy and prosperous, spending time to learn about money is a waste of time. Thus, these students usually have poor financial management skills after leaving the educational system.

Moving on to some potential solutions to solve the problem of not being financially acknowledged after dropping school out. Firstly, the idea of being able to have practical lessons at school tutoring about managing money flow is crucial to let teenagers enhance and boost their ability to manage money. For instance, to educate students about financial topics, some particular high schools provide their students a week of internship, which possibly assists students to adapt and acquaint themselves with how money goes and works. Thus, this helps teenage people to unleash their imagination spontaneously and having a practical lesson to learn and deal with future struggles. Secondly, parents should be stricter towards their childrens’ mindset by molding them with a thought and philosophy of financial circle which contains the consequences of subjectivity. Besides, they also need to warn and threaten their children about the gravity of bankruptcy, which may in terms create fears for them and prompt them to learn how to use their money properly.

In summary, the traditional teaching method and the tendency of financially relying on family are some major reasons that cause the act of dropping high school being unaware of money characteristics and how to control it. Besides, implementing practical and applicable lectures or molding childrens’ mindset about the use of money are considered potential solutions to solve this problem of teenage population.