students leave high-school without learning the way how to manage their money. what are the reasons and solution for this issue?

Proficiency in financial management is essential for career and life. Nowadays, graduating from high school without knowing financial literacy is a common problem among high school graduates. This essay will examine the underlying causes for students’ lack of these skills and several possible solutions.

There are number of reasons for student not knowing how to manage their money. One cause of high schoolers’ lack of money management skills is that the curriculum in school does not prioritize financial education. Financial skills are not given the same emphasis as subjects like mathematics, English, and science in the school curriculum. Schools do not teach students about money saving, investment, or even a basic understanding of financial concepts. Furthermore, most students still live with their parents and are economically reliant on them. Their parents provide them with everything; therefore, they enter adulthood without understanding the realities of earning and saving money.

Fortunately, there are some solutions to help deal with this problem. Schools can introduce additional courses on financial management, including how to save and spend money, outside of regular school hours. These classes would equip them with the knowledge and skills to manage their finances when they leave school, move out of their parents’ home, and enter employment. Moreover, parents can encourage responsible spending habits by providing an adequate allowance and not spoiling their kids. Children can be involved in household budgeting, be encouraged to save money, and be engaged in open discussions about financial choices.

In conclusion, although money management is a problem for many school-leavers, there are still ways to address this issue. With more extracurricular activities focused on finances and parental assurance, children can graduate from high school prepared to manage their money effectively.