Students should only learn subjects they like. Do you agree?

Nowadays, young people’s education is one of the most popular topics that it attracts a lot of interest in. There are many arguments about students who need to learn many subjects or only one subject they like. As for me, I hold the belief that students should be educated with different subjects in schools.

There are two reasons for my statement. Firstly, the main reason for this is that students only learn subjects they like, which can put them at a disadvantage in their future. This means, it makes students lack the ability to synthesize information, and thus students can not broaden knowledge with diverse topics. Furthermore, limiting awareness can result in the fact that students will lose the opportunity to promote themselves. For example, almost all occupations not only require specialized knowledge but also have other perspectives. If students learned only literature at schools, they could not do work related to logic in their jobs. Secondly, students enhance their knowledge with the subjects they like, which causes students to reduce critical thinking. To be more specific, the fact that they are always exposed to resources and materials they want can result from lack of challenges from different topics. The consequence is that it can prevent students from improving their growth mindset. For instance, when students only acquire theoretical knowledge they can only face the challenges about the words. They will have struggled to solve the problems about logic in their life.

In conclusion, I strongly take the view that students should not only learn the subjects they like because it can put them at a disadvantage in the future and reduce critical thinking.