Students should pay the full cost for their own study, because university education benefits individuals rather than society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When it comes to university fees, some believe students should pay the full price. That is because university education is believed to contribute more to students themselves than society. Even though university helps graduates a lot such as with good quality education, making students pay the full price is still disadvantageous in many ways such as for people with low income.

Admittedly, in some cases using taxes for university education may seem unnecessary because that money could have been used for health care and the economy of the country. According to statistics, around 10 percent of the government’s tax goes to education on average, and 2 to 3 percent of it goes to university education. It can vary depending on the country. It can also include as high as 20-23 percent from education’s budget in some countries. Making students pay the full cost can also improve the overall participation of students in classes. What I mean is that when the cost is expensive enough, students start being responsible by attending more lessons to get their money’s worth.

In contrast, even though paying the full fee of university can be beneficial in many ways, I believe that instead of motivating individuals to study harder, it takes the only opportunity to get better education away from those with financial burden. It is already hard enough for people to get education, because the cost of living is really challenging for most, paying the full cost of university can make their situation worse than it already is. It can also negatively affect the overall quality of life, especially in cities, because when people cannot get qualifications they would not be able to get a job with a good salary.

In conclusion, as mentioned above, making students pay the full cost of their own study can be both an advantage and a disadvantage in many areas. However, to make areas of education better, the government should not stop giving part of the tax of the country to universities.