Studies show that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they can get a job when leave prison. Do you agree or disagree?

It is demonstrated by research that a huge number of criminals have a low level of education. Because of this, people think that educating inmates so that they can have a job after incarceration is the best way to decrease the amount of crime. I strongly agree with this notion mainly because education qualifies them for employment.

Education is highly likely to equip criminals with qualifications to achieve a job. Nowadays, one of the indispensable qualifications of achieving an occupation is to have education. By completing educational courses, prisoners provide ample evidence of their competence and capabilities to procure a job. For example, an inmate who passes a computer-based course is eligible to receive a profession related to IT. Therefore, perpetrators will have higher chances of securing employment after attending educational courses in prison.

If a criminal has a job, they are less likely to commit a crime. One of the main reasons of committing crime is lack of money. If one has a job, they will be able to make enough money to assemble the necessities of life for their family. Besides, having a job gives them a sense of responsibility and being beneficial to their society. As a result, criminals will be highly unlikely to continue their criminal activities.

Some may argue that educating prisoners costs vast sums of money, and this budget is better to be spent on more peaceful places like the educational system rather than criminals. However, the long-term advantages that educating inmates provides for the society outweigh its financial costs.

In conclusion, I think that investing in prisons to educate criminals is going to have huge upcoming benefits to the society and reduce crime significantly. Since having education gives you credit and proves your abilities, it will make you a better choice for acquiring jobs, and being occupied by a job averts your breaking the law.