Sustainable tourism is essential for protecting natural areas. However, some people argue that it limits economic growth. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that sustainable tourism negatively affects countries’ economic growth, despite being important for preserving environment. This essay strongly opposes the given statement. Firstly, low-impact travel can lead to long-term economic growth and secondly, this environmentally friendly tourism supports local communities and creates job opportunities.

To commence, it is evident that by protecting natural areas, we enhance opportunities of having a bright future. Moreover, if sustainable tourism preserves beaches, forests, mountains, cultural sites, tourists will continue visiting for many years, which leads to long-term economy. To illustrate, individuals in Costa Rica always protect their picturesque and diverse rainforests , also welcome only responsible travellers. Consequently, the country has a continuous income and regenerative tourism.

Furthermore, another persuasive argument is that supporting citizens and developing employment. This is to say that low-impact tourism encourages local people’s small businesses , also creates employment opportunities. A pertinent example is Thailand, where local communities sell handmade products to tourists. The money goes to locals, not for large companies. In addition, it’s undoubtedly true that when communities become financially stronger, the national economy also grows.

Ultimately, it can be concluded that sustainable tourism has more benefits not only for our environment, but also it is appropriate for local communities. Hence, it is clear that low-impact tourism plays a vital role in today’s society.