t is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

The trend among high-school graduates to take a year off studies before university is on the rise. Although this can have some positive aspects such as finding their true passion or gaining experience, the negative points like failure or depression should not be neglected.

This practice has showed some advantages as most of those who skipped a year after school have found their true passion or gained experience in different fields over the course of a year. This is because during the gap year, students do not have to spend 6-7 hours in educational institutions but rather can allocate this time to explore their desires and abilities as well as their surroundings. In a lot of cases like this, young people may figure out that they would rather do craftsmanship than carry out a heavily academic, office-bound lifestyle. However, if they gave in to the pressure and attended universities, these opportunities would not be present and they would have to turn all their focus to something they do not truly want, possibly becoming prone to mental issues like burnout or depression.

One of the main problems of a gap year between high school and university is that, if a student returns to academic life, it may turn out to be really challenging to get back on track. The main factor is that, some people are innately really suited for higher education and formal jobs, but as the trend has become so popular, everyone is jumping on the wagon. One whole year of being away from academia could cause their abilities to diminish and turn their focus to making easy/fast money and partying. If the situation continues as is, these people will not only quickly become wary of working and fun but also drop their potential of succeeding at university and career pools leaving them between a rock and a hard wall.

To sum up, it is clear that this phenomenon can be both: positive and negative and to get either of those things is to the hands of the young person.