Talk about a negative learning experience you've had, why is it memorable?

Learners and students around the world have good and bad learning experiences, which impact their lives as well as the way they think, whether positively or negatively. In this essay, I will explain how a negative experience affected my life and how and why they remain unforgettable to me.

When I decided to attend university, I was so excited because of learning a foreign language is a great thing. I chose to study English Language and Translation in 2014. However, I remember that very well, one day after finishing my class, I went to my university professor’s office to ask her for further explanation about grammar, which I did not fully understand. Unfortunately, her response shocked me. I was frustrated, she was supposed to encourage me or answer my questions rather than break my heart and shatter my confidence. What made the moment unforgettable was that I didn’t understand and I asked her a question. Also, she began to mumble and even laughed when I spoke in English. This experience and her behavior emotionally affected me and I didn’t speak English again for six years until I finally rebuilt my self-assurance.

In addition, I decided to enroll in an IELTS course in October of this year, but after ten lessons, I withdrew. I now wish I had not done that. I discovered their methods relied on memorization rather than comprehension, they gave me more than 50 template papers to memorize in order to achieve a high score if I wanted to pass the writing exam. On top of that, they told me to practice with AI to enhance my speaking skills. I will not delude myself into believing that, I deserve a band 8 or higher by cheating. In fact, I will not change my principles or take dishonest or inappropriate methods.

Harsh words and dishonest methods caused me to shift my dream from becoming a translator to becoming an effective teacher. Now, I’m grateful for all these negative experiences that have given me the valuable lessons to not give up and keep myself thinking in a positive way.