• Task 2: Crime rates are likely to decrease as advancements in technology make it easier to prevent and solve crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, technology is becoming increasingly developed and enhanced. Following on from that, a growing number of individuals believe that with the rapid advancements in technology, crime rates are going to decline. Although I agree that technological uses may help in reducing crime rates, I would argue that they may pose numerous side effects.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why the thriving of the technology industry can help in stifling crimes. The first major attribute of those is the prevalence of modern cameras. To be more specific, the widespread appearance of these cameras will put individuals in a state of always being cautious of their actions in order to not deliberately commit offences. The implication of this is better legal knowledge and awareness from residents and, in turn, reduced crime rates. Another advantage of this is the advanced and accessible database and modern identification for governments. Not only does this make managing local dwellers easier but also helps in tracking criminals.

On the other hand, with the continual development of technology, committing crimes can also be more convenient. Firstly, cybercriminals can utilize numerous cutting-edge applications to get information from online users. “Mr. Peep,” who dwindled money out of numerous victims in VietNam through data breaches in numerous networking platforms, serves as compelling evidence of this tragic drawback. Secondly, thanks to the advancements of online applications, it is much easier for criminals to hide from the police now than in the past. Indeed, there are countless applications whose functions include suppressing and fabricating private information, potentially making it more challenging for authorities to find offenders.

In conclusion, while I partly agree that the prevalence and modernization of cameras and databases resulting from the development of the technology industry may aid in curbing crime rates, I think that these advancements also wield many detrimental impacts, including the convenience of committing offences. Governments should encourage companies to improve the security in their applications and also to design special devices for the police in order to combat criminals easier.