Task 2: In some countries today, many people are having their first child at an older age. What are the reasons for this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? _____________

In the technological era, a lot of individuals in certain countries decide to have their first child at a later age. This essay will explore the reason behind this trend and make an argument that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

One of the main reasons for delaying childbirth is their psychologically unready and various unfinished plans. This is because many individuals feel they do not have enough abilities to nurture, protect, and take care of their child, which is commonly seen from young people. Along with that, younger generations often focus on pursuing higher education and the priority of career advancement so as to have financial stability for themselves. For example, newly-graduated students tend to carry out their bucket list including travel around the world, follow their childhood dreams, and explore themselves more deeply, so becoming parents can disrupt these plans.

Although the disadvantages of having children later in life can lead to increased pregnancy risks and have widened the generational gap, I believe that the benefits might be more significant. One of the most crucial advantages is that they possess emotional maturity, which compels them to control their feelings and brings positive aspects before their children. Moreover, with greater life experience, they can improve parenting skills and have better financial preparation, spending more time for their sons and daughters as well as helping them access a more modern learning environment. Growing up caring and supportive, youngsters can discover the good qualities of themselves and always live in happiness.

In conclusion, having their first child later in life can stem from the fear of young people who are not eager to become parents as well as still have a lot of plans they do not carry out. Although the drawbacks of this issue also cause negative impacts for parents and children, I gravitate towards the idea that these benefits can bring a better life for kids with more parents’ caring, which outweigh the disadvantages.