Task 2: Intelligence is the most important quality to be a leader. Do you agree or disagree? (Agree or Disagree)

It is argued that the main quality for a leader is to be smart. I disagree with the given statement, because being intelligent is not enough, and emotional development is more crucial.

To begin with, smartness is not always an indicator of an individual’s capability of leading a team. Although people with a strong cognitive ability easily learn theoretical information in any field, they might not be able to use the knowledge properly when it comes to reality due to other factors. For instance, a student who has excellent grades in management class might struggle to lead a team because of other personal qualities, such as being an introvert. Therefore, I think that it is not enough to be intelligent to be a decent leader.

In addition, a high emotional quotient is what mainly indicates how competent the leader is. This is because managers have to understand the feelings and emotions of employees in order to know how to treat them. This eventually brings strong bonds between them, because employers know that they are understood. Moreover, being able to manage one’s own emotions also plays a huge role, as the mood of the leader is commonly insisted upon by the teammates. For example, most of the CEOs of the biggest companies share that they have spent much time to succeed in emotional advancement and that it helped them in better communication with the team.

In conclusion, intellectual quotient is not the main quality for a leader. For one thing, it is not sufficient to be smart, and for another, emotional advancement matters more in management.