Task 2: It is proposed that a working week should be shortened. How far do you agree with this statement?

It is believed that there should be a reduction in the amount of time allocated for work during a week. From my perspective, I completely agree with that statement because of some reasons below.

It is without doubt that shortening working time can help employees improve both physical and mental health. Firstly, in modern era, workers especially officers are witnessing a sedentary lifestyle because they have to have many extra shifts in order to earn enough money for your basic needs. If they cut down on working time and remain the same salary before, they will not be under pressure so they are able to do exercises preventing circular diseases. It also helps workers spend more time take care their family or themselves which reduce stress. Moreover, not only workers receive benefits but also companies. It can be explained that when labourers have the better quality of lives, they will increase productivity so entrepreneurs will gain more profits.

This statement is not new because in over the world, some countries are applied this one. It could be exemplified that in England, many companies allow their employees to work 4 days per week instead of 5 days in common. In some reports from them after reducing the working time, their revenue increases approximately ten percents and their workers improve their health a lot. And If employees work continuously with very little time to relax, what happen? Personally, people who are going to suffer from mental diseases such as chronic stress or nervous breakdown because of enormous workload are highly able to commit suicide. We can see this case in Japan where workers must work over twelve hours per day because their cost living is too high.

In conclusion, while there are many concerns about reducing working time relating to advantages or disadvantages, I think benefits outweigh the harms so it should be applied in many places in the world.