Task 2: Pollution and other environmental damages are caused by a country developing and becoming richer. This problem cannot be avoided. To what extent do you disagree or agree?

Some individuals claim that environmental problems are mainly caused by a country’s developing process, and are unavoidable to address. Personally, I agree with this viewpoint to some extent, based on the reasons discussed throughout this essay.

Admittedly, when a country enters the stage of development, it may sacrifice some of the societal and natural aspects of its initial values. Since the modern era began to demonstrate its superior advantages, many technological advancements have accelerated in development at a quick pace. Some of the variations of technology, such as cars, motorcycles, and phones, were invented to serve the people’s basic needs. However, those inventions were responsible for the increase of pollution, mostly appearing in the form of emissions and contaminated liquids. Generally, countries should not be entirely accused for their act of upgrading their citizens’ quality of life and providing more valuable resources suited to this modern age.

On the other hand, other factors also contribute to climate change and environmental contamination, and an equal evaluation should be considered. Illegal acts which violate the legislation of a country still exist among people nowadays. Excessive demands for personal gains, such as exploiting land and sea resources, are the major contributors, resulting in devastating nature, subsequently affecting the ozone layer and contributing to climate change.

In summary, a balanced approach should be prioritized by all nations in the world as a solution. Such a neglectful attitude would lead to an unpredictable downfall of a country in all aspects, from the economy to society. Being able to address these problematic issues while maintaining and enhancing growth in domestic facilities is essential in order to stabilize overall development.