Task 2: Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Pollution is becoming a global issue, especially for developing countries. People die at an early age due to pollution, which increases the risk of lung cancer and pneumonia. Many people think that state authorities should take action against environmental pollution to reduce the amount of disease or illness. I totally agree with this statement.

Firstly, the government is the body that has the right to impose rules and acts for certain issues. As modern urbanization is growing significantly, more and more household wastes are also generated, which further contributes to environmental pollution. In this case, local authorities as well as the central government should implement some regulations to control this pollution.

Secondly, several dump stations, as well as recycling factories and water treatment plants, etc., can be established by the government. Much research has found that most of the diseases, for instance, cholera, diarrhea, and typhoid, are caused by contaminated water. Municipalities can construct water treatment plants to minimize the spreading of these diseases. Additionally, they can encourage citizens to dump their wastes in a particular place, separating plastic wastes from perishable wastes and recycling or reusing when possible.

However, it is not merely the duty of the government but also of the local people. Citizens have to be more concerned about disposing of their waste. They can raise awareness among social communities and participate in volunteer activities such as protecting the environment and reducing the risk of diseases. Furthermore, they have to support and practice local environmental rules and regulations to protect the environment. Otherwise, it would be challenging for the government to achieve success.

In conclusion, although I believe that the utmost responsibility is on the government to control environmental and urbanization pollution, the practical impact relies on the combined effort of the citizens and the authorities.