Task 2: Some people say that we should use animals for the benefits of humans. Others argue that exploiting animals for human purposes is unacceptable. Discuss both views.

There is a rising debate regarding the use of animals to satisfy human needs. While some propose that it is a natural and necessary activity, others strongly disagree, stating that there are no cases when it is acceptable to exploit and harm animals in any way. This essay will discuss both sides of this debate and provide a concluding point.

On the one hand, some supporters of animal-involved human actions state that it does not necessarily involve abuse. There are a number of farms where domestic animals and pets are well-maintained and taken care of. These farms provide non-vegan products, such as eggs, wool, dairy products and meat, without harming their animals. Animal food production also may be unevitable due to the fact that these products contain a range of vitamins and nutrients, which cannot be gained from plant-based meals in needed amounts. For example, eggs and meat are the main sources of protein, which is hardly met in nature, but is highly important for a human organism. Another argument to support this claim may be the involvement of animals for scientific purposes. Many scientific researches were conducted with the help of animals, before involving humans. While these actions are controversial and should not impact on animals in negative ways, it is still obvious that animal experiments have brought science far.

On the other hand, it is no doubt that sometimes animal abuse is implicated, thus those cases should not be tolerated. Whether it is done for production or scientific purposes, no animal should be harmed in the way. In addition, there are some situations when animal use is not neseccary and can be avoided. Those include, for example, clothes production, for the reason that animal materials can be effectively replaced with plants or imitations. The main reason to oppose the animal use for human purposes may be that animals also are not able to consent, thus this makes all the actions done towards animals unfair.

To conclude, it appears to me that using animals to benefit humans cannot be avoided, as some animal production is neseccary for our well-being, but if any animal is abused in the proccess or if animal involvement is not neseccary, it should not be tolerated.