Task 2: Some people think governments should spend money looking for life on other planets, while others think that it is a waste of public money when it has problems on earth. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As the problems on Earth become more and more numerous, there is an ongoing debate about whether the government should spend money to search for life on other planets or focus on solving the problems on Earth. In this essay, I will present both views and give my personal opinion.

On one hand, spending money to search for life on other planets can bring many benefits for humanity on Earth in long term. To start with, research on other planets will expand human knowledge about the universe, which can help us know when something wrong can come in the future and give us time to prepare ourselves. Next, investing money to search for life on other planets can push the development of advanced technologies, benefiting various fields like medicine, energy, and transportation. Furthermore, it can ensure the survival of humanity in the future in case humans can’t live on Earth anymore, such as when sea levels rise and submerge the mainland, environmental pollution is so severe that it cannot be solved anymore, resources on Earth are exhausted, etc.

On the other hand, focusing on solving the problems on Earth is something that needs to be done so human society does not collapse and its benefit is something we all can foresee. To start with, many countries today are facing serious problems such as poverty, climate change, and social inequality, which can lead to riots, protests, or worse, war. To avoid those bad things happening, we need a lot of money to fix the problems that human society is having right now. Next, space research programs are extremely expensive, and their results are not guaranteed to have practical value. Because of that, these resources could be better invested in sustainable solutions for current Earth-based challenges. For example, allocating budgets to improve healthcare, education, and infrastructure would provide more immediate and tangible benefits to humanity.

In short, searching for extraterrestrial life has scientific and futuristic potential, but addressing issues on Earth should take precedence. If we only focus on problems on Earth, we will never know what is out there in the universe, but if we focus too much on learning about the universe and ignore problems on Earth, human society will collapse. Personally, I think both of those things can help humanity, so a balanced strategy is the most appropriate approach.