Task 2 : Some people think that poverty is the main cause of crime. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that poverty is the key driver of crime. This essay firmly disagree with the view, as criminal behaviors are affected by several different factors.

On the one hand, it is unreasonable to consider poverty as the main cause of crime while there is a wide range of factors, such as mental and ethical issues that contribute to criminal behaviors. For example, some serious criminal behaviors (murder, sexual crime) are attributed to the environment while criminal lack of education from school and parents. Besides, some people vulnerable to inappropriate movies or books, they might become delusion to violence acts and lead to criminal behaviours. However, there are also some people commit crimes as their hobbies and criminal behaviours like robbing small things from shops might entertain them.

On the other hand, it is true that poverty cause impoverished people to commit crimes. While the poor can not earn enogh money for necessities – accommodation, food, drink and education – to maintain basic needs for their family and themselves, some people could do anything just to make money . As a result, they might no longer care about ethical concern and commit crimes, become robber and thief. Nevertheless, these cases are just small amount of crimes committed annually and poverty is virtually not the reason of more serious crimes.

In conclusion, it is irrational to consider crime is maily attributed to poverty. Eventhough impoverished background might lead to crimes as robber and thief, criminal is affected by a wide range of factors like lack of education or inappropriate sources of books and movies.