TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write at least 250 words. After you finish, use the checklist to evaluate your writing task. Then, compare your task with the sample answer. Write about the following topic: Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

The age of retirement has been in argument for a long time, but I believe having a set retirement age irrespective of occupation is the best decision due to a number of reasons which include the efficient transfer of expertise, less spending on pensions and the overall work efficiency at the workplace.

Employees in their golden years preparing to retire can be a great asset to any organization be it in the government or the mercantile sector. These employees can be given a reduced technical workload while been given the task of training the young and inexperienced to take over the job market responsibly. This is a crucial factor since the transfer of skills and proper training is a time intensive process that yields benefits in the long run. More citizens at work will mean that governments will have to allocate less money towards pension schemes in the national budget, resulting in these funds to be invested into other sectors in the economy such as education and healthcare. A skilled and experienced labour market will result in a higher efficiency at work leading to reduced costs as a result of the best decisions being made.

However, more elderly employees would be a demotivating factor for the young community who have entered the job market recently, but more skills acquired in the long run would result in greater job security and an increased earning potential for workers in the future. Another argument would be that elderly workers are not the best in terms of technology, but this is where the next generation has to take responsibility where crucial decision making can be made by the more experienced while the efficient execution of these decisions incorporated with the latest practices can be done by the younger employees.

In conclusion I believe that having a set retirement age for everybody regardless of occupation brings about policies that includes everybody while helping governments and organizations remain stable in the years to come.