Technological advancements are expected to provide people in the 21st century with significantly more free time. How accurate has this prediction been so far? Explain your viewpoint with reasons and include appropriate examples based on your knowledge or experiences.

With technological advances, it has been expected to provide people in the 21st century with significantly more spare time. In my opinion, I partially agree with this prediction.

On the one hand, I believe that technology can succeed in providing individuals more leisure time in 21st century. Firstly, technological advances in automation have helped improve work productivity and reduce errors, allowing people to work fewer hours. For instance, robots are widely used for labour-intensive tasks, thereby reducing the pressure of workload and enhancing the work efficiency. Secondly, intelligent machines play an indispensable part in daily tasks . In fact, thanks to an internet-connected smartphone, students easily access their online learning materials anytime and anywhere, saving commuting time .Besides, household equipment such as automated vacuums and dishwashers reduce the time spent on housework.

On the other hand, the development of technology still exerts negative impacts on people’s life. To begin with, workers may face unemployment and struggle with earning the livelihood, due to the overuse of artificial intelligence. Many workers believe that these smart robots will be a substitute for human workforce, giving them a sense of insecurity and anxiety. Therefore, they spend more time on sharpening their abilities and skills to secure their jobs. Furthermore, the excessive consumption of digital gadgets not only reduces the quality of recreational time but also adversely affects mental health. Indeed, users easily become addicted to social networking sites and lose track of time when using them for a long time.

In conclusion, while technological advancements support individuals with more free time through automation and intelligent devices, they have also introduced challenges such as unemployment and health problems . Therefore, I am convinced that the prediction that people would enjoy much more leisure time in the 21st century has only partly come true.