Technology and work life balance. Some belive that technology improve our lives. To witch extent to do you agree with this statement?

One cannot deny that the advancement of technology has been beneficial to our lives in every possible way. Some hold that this has even allowed us to achieve a better balance between career commitments and personal and social fulfillments. However, I partially agree with this statement as there is a lot to do to reach a healthy balance between the two. The following paragraphs will explore the rationale behind my point of view.

It is unquestionable that technology and more specifically, artificial intelligence have contributed to reducing the need for human input in mechanical tasks by automating the whole process. For instance, we all use the self-check tills in shops and we pay for items by e-wallet without showing our physical bank cards and entering our PIN code. Furthermore, AI can allow us to prepare a first draft of legal research faster, saving us from going through a considerable number of sources. However, despite all the benefits mentioned, this technological progress is not without downsides, such as job losses or inaccuracy of the results. These outcomes will leave individuals jobless with poor skills. Would that help to pursue a better personal life?

A study conducted by the University of Colorado indicates that people are experiencing a deeper sense of depression now than 20 years ago. This seems to be due to a lack of purpose given by their jobs and interaction with the world, which has decreased with technology. In sum, I maintain that more should be done to achieve that balance, and the government should contribute.