Technology is being used more and more in education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

In modern education, technology is being used increasingly more than in the past. Assisted by advancements in education, technology certainly opens up more accessibility towards up-to-date information, but there will also be a drawback.

One evident benefit to adapting technology in school is that there is significantly less difficulty in finding reliable and updated resources. Looking back to the past, students needed to go to the library for browsing documents and resources for their papers. Often, if the required information was not found or outdated, they needed to find another library and keep searching for such. Moreover, physical publications such as books took time, and the spread of updated information was so much slower back then than today. Technological advancements such as the internet have helped students in searching journals, surveys, or articles that are easy to access and constantly updated in real-time.

On the other hand, there is an obvious disadvantage to using more technology in education. Students may become too reliant on technology that they cannot think by themselves. With just a simple search, individuals can find the solutions to their problems over the internet easily these days. Although this is beneficial for students to assist their homework when they are stuck, some will overuse this to the point that they will just copy and paste the answers from the internet without any actual learning. Such behavior could reduce their motivation to learn, as it is very easy now to get the answers to every question.

To summarize, while there is a plus point to adapting technology in education, too much reliance on it would damage the students’ motivation as a result. Maintaining balance in the usage should be considered to ensure the quality of education as well as the students’ learning.