Technology is being used more and more in education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

The implementing of technology has become more prominent in education, the main benefits of this are that it provides students from different backgrounds with easier access to information while also making learning more interactive. But it can also have some negative effects, such as the fact not everything that’s online is true and it can be more distracting for student.

Technology in general has been revolutionary in education, from home schooling to teaching in rural areas, technology can provide an unparalleled access to a multitude of different resources, these resources would be otherwise inaccessible to these students, thus improving and mainstreaming their education. In addition to that, new technologies can be very stimulating to even the most tenacious of students, providing a better incentive to learn than the old pen and paper method. For example, there is an abundance of different websites that cater to young children and help them learn by using games and songs.

But we can’t ignore that the usage of technology also has some negative effects, for example, there is no supervision online, anyone can post anything, and this will lead the not so tech savvy people to learn or maybe teach wrong unfactual things, leading to a worse educational experience Furthermore, not all student are motivated to just study, and using technology can pose the risk of making these pupils either procrastinate or get busy with doing something else, cutting into their study time. For example, a student can use a personal computer to look up lecture notes on youtube but instead open some amusing videos and waste hours of their time.

In conclusion, using technology in education can be beneficial in that it will make knowledge more accessible while making the learning experience more fun. But it also poses risks, such as providing false information to students and it can help them lose focus.