Technology is responsible for unemployment. Do you agree or disagree?

In the new millennium, the idea that technological innovations lead to unemployment has been receiving public attention. Personally, I partly disagree with this statement because of some reasons highlighted in the essay below.

There are a couple of reasons provided to contend that machines have contributed to joblessness. One of the outstanding reasons is that technology is able to replace the labor workforce in some manual jobs. This is due to the fact that these days cutting-edge machines are more productive and precise, while human errors happen more often. For example, the initiatives of artificial intelligence such as ChatGPT have been performing accurately in translating; or the automatic systems in industrial factories are capable of producing a significantly larger number of products compared to that of a worker. Hence the probability of being redundant is higher than previous periods because of technological advantages.

On the other hand, I would vigorously side with those who advocate that we should not entirely blame the negative impacts of the unemployment rate on technological innovations. The first reason that earns my support is that there are other factors that contribute to high rate of joblessness. For instance, the COVID-19 pandemic has caused tremendous repercussions such as a financial crisis leading to cost reducing and layoffs in a lot of companies. Another reason worth mentioning is that technology obviously could not be an entire alternative for humans. It is undeniable that some jobs require human empathy and sense to consult the problems such as psychological doctors and teachers.

To sum up, it is indisputable that both sides are well-grounded. In my opinion, I am in favour of the idea that technology is not the only reason causing unemployment.