Technology is responsible for unemployment. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that job displacement is solely caused by technology. While it is true that technology advancements could cause people to lose their job, it is just one out of many reasons that contributed to that.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people advocate that idea. The key rationale is that technology is responsible for the creation of AI and robots which make human workers redundant. For instance, the development of AI chat bot such as Chat GPT has made it easier than ever to write without much effort, which has many cause jobs like bloggers, content creators and journalists to be close to obsolete. However, this viewpoint failed to recognize that AI is just one of a few reasons that lead to job displacement. In fact, there are many factors that play a more prominent role that lead to unemployment, such as limited accessibility or qualification problems. For instance, many more practically or physically demanding jobs such as farmers and doctors still require humans’ meticulous skills and experiences that AI couldn’t replicate, which shows there are still a huge chunk of jobs that can’t be diminished just because of technology.

On the other hand, I believe that technology actually helped more people to have their desired job. In this digital age, the rise of social media platforms has made advertisement easier than ever, people could just browse the web and be able to find their dream job rather than having to physically go to a specific place for a recruitment. Moreover, social media also makes it easier for people to showcase their CV and portfolio, which not only helps them to find a job in an easier way but also helps the recruiter to better assess their skills. Additionally, as advanced technology is, there are a range of fields such as art and media, which require humans’ creativity, artistic vision and direction to resonate with the audience and therefore creating values. Technology, such as AI, failed to replace humans in these areas, as it lacks humans’ soul and determination, as they are trained based on a set of data and algorithms.

To conclude, it is true that technology advancements, such as AI, may contribute to unemployment, It is not the root cause of the problem as it can’t replace humans in many fields.