The 21st century is a fast-paced, interconnected world where people are constantly bombarded with information on every imaginable subject. Whenever an event takes place somewhere in the world, it is instantly transmitted world-wide. While it is very useful to be well informed, there can be disadvantages. In your opinion, what are some of the possible disadvantages of information overload?

In the modern world, people are able to do many things more easily than they used to. One of them is how they reach information. Thanks to the developments in communication, people can receive information about anything, even when they do not want to and experience information overload, which describes the excess of information available to a person. This situation could have certain drawbacks for an individual, causing them to delay the tasks they ought to do and make bad decisions.

One of the reasons why information overload could be disadvantageous is that too much information available may make people procrastinate and put off the task they are supposed to finish. Since they do not know where to start considering the amount of information presented to them, they might try to adapt to the situation by delaying the tasks they have to complete. For instance, students trying to find sources for assignments are likely to come across hundreds of articles when they carry out research online. As they will feel forced to wade through all that information, after a while, the process will get overwhelming and they will be more inclined to postpone doing the assignment. However, because information overload is something they cannot avoid, they will probably continue delaying the work until they realize that they are running out of time. In short, information overload might result in a tendency to delay.

Apart from the tendency to procrastinate, too much information might leave people open to taking bad decisions. When people have more information than they can effectively manage, they might have trouble processing it and in the end make the wrong choice. Just imagine someone trying to choose a holiday destination. When they try to gather information from travel agency brochures or social media, they will reach an unnecessary amount of information and as it will be difficult to differentiate between them, they will feel confused and face the risk of making the wrong decision. Overall, the decision-making process is impeded by information overload.

Being exposed to too much information is something most people cannot avoid. Thus, people had better find ways to handle information overload; otherwise, they might ‘drown’ in it and have to face the consequences.