The authority often builds new schools, colleges and universities in residential areas. Some people think that residential areas are good places for such educational institutions while others oppose the idea. In your opinion what are the advantages and disadvantages of establishing educational institutions in residential areas?

Educational facilities are increasing widely in remote areas and give access to education for all students. The idea of building schools and colleges in residential zone is taking a toll on people, as few members believe that educational institutions in residential communities has negative effects. I feel that, these facilities provide great opportunities for students. In this essay, I will elaborate the benefits and drawbacks of building schools and colleges in residential areas.

There are two keys factors in considering the construction of education institutions. It fosters easy access from homes. If schools were closer to the residence, transportation costs and time will be reduced. They can also provide education equally to all individuals. Orthodox families, who hesitate to send female children to schools and colleges, for instance, will send them, if educational facilities were nearer to their home.

Commercialisation and traffic are the main reasons for opposition from families. Schools and colleges have influence on growth of shops. Stationary shops, cafes, and restaurants, for example, would be built near these institutions. This will affect the residents, as homes will be transformed into shops. Traffic will be raised significantly because of education institutions in residential areas. School streets will be blocked due to vehicles, which transport children like autos, rickshaws and buses. This affects the employees around the area by making them late for their work and the noise from horns of vehicles impact the elderly residents, who are at risk of heart attack.

In conclusion, educational facilities constructed by authorities in residential communities have both positives and negatives. I think these institutions give chance for students to get quality education at affordable and accessible places. Therefore, it is essential to have schools and colleges in residential areas.