With increasing access to online translation tools, some believe that learning a second language is becoming less necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

People often argue over the relevance of learning foreign languages with recent advancements in translation technology. They believe that these modern translation devices have destroyed the barrier of communication between people speaking various languages. I partially disagree with this statement because there is a cultural factor associated with foreign languages as well as the errors that are made by the devices.

Language translators are man-made invention and can translate various languages to language set by the user, although there are limitations in translating less-popular languages. For example, people living in African tribes often communicate with peculiar dialect, which is difficult to understand even after using translation devices because they are not advanced enough to translate every language from different part of the world. Additionally, translators take a long time to process the information and give results, which can be uninteresting and dull. Moreover, languages have their own cultural values, which need to get preserved.

However, with development of this technology has revolutionized the world and has turned it into a global village. For instance, translators have facilitated people to share information from several parts of the world, and people can no more get lost in translation if they do not learn the foreign language. Despite the advancement in this technology, there are number of flaws that need to get resolved.

In conclusion, recent developments in translation technology has made human being able to understand various languages from all around the world without even learning. However, I believe learning foreign languages are equally essential because of their cultural values and real-life experience in using translation devices are often unnatural.