The benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the positive impact of tourism is bigger than its disadvantages. Even though I am aware that tourism causes problems for countries such as pollution, I strongly agree that the advantages are worth it because it can enhance employment in a country and improve local economy.

Firstly, tourism can increase employment because countries are supposed to offer positive experience to tourists, which requires staff to be well provided. If tourism increases, some restaurants will hire chefs to cook local food, while hotels will hire workers who help with internal organization. As a result, more people in the country will be employed. For instance, on vacations, some regions in Colombia experience a growth in job opportunities from hotels given that they must try to cover all the necessities of national or foreign travelers.

Secondly, the economy can be enhanced by tourism since travelers will spend their money on national business. Unless tourists dislike the place where they stay, they would probably want to buy some souvenirs to share with their family or friends. These can be distributed by artisans who can take advantage of their context. Notably, in San Andres Island, independent workers use beaches to sell their handmade products such as accessories or even typical food that is not easy to find in restaurants. Thus, if there were no travelers to offer their products, local people would not have this income that is mostly used for daily necessities.

In conclusion, the advantages that tourism can bring are bigger than the possible disadvantages. First of all, employment can increase because of the necessity of providing good experience to travelers, which demands a well-organized workforce. In addition, workers’ incomes are from investments of tourists, improving in this way the economy of the country.