The best way to learn a culture is to learn its language. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely considered that learning a language of foreign nation is a best way to explore its culture. I partialy agree with this view, as although studying language might contribute to better comprehesion of people and their traditions, this knowledge does not reflect the whole culture.

The primary reason why language-learning positively impact explore of culture is that language shows local values and traditions. By studying foreign language’s greetings or idioms individuals mitigate the barrier between them and locals, fostering the better understanding of culture. This, in turn, allows them to build stronger bonds with cultural attributes and traditions through communication. Illustrations can be seen in phrases as japanese ‘itadakimasu’ representing gratitude that is unique side of nation. Therefore, studying language fosters deeper interaction with local community, enhancing the comprehesion of culture’s unique sides.

However, although language may provide better understanding of culture, it does not fully reflect it. Culture is difficult and versatile, as it consists not only of linguistic part, but also of food, art, and many other things. If people were restricted by language-learning, they would not comprehend all the complexity and wonder of culture. Consequently, it is not necessary to be fluent to explore the culture. For instance, enjoying italian opera or chinese cuisine is possible without knowing the language, which emphasizes multi-faceted side of culture. As a result, there are many ways of culture exploration that may provide the same experience as language studying.

In conclusion, language is the best gateway, but not the only one. I am firmly convinsed that complete understanding of nature comes from both language and lived experience.