The best way to learn a culture is to learn its language. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people consider that for learning the most about any culture you should firstly understand their language. I strongly agree that it is the most effective way of exploring culture, because the elements containing history is usually written by culture’s native language.

Historical books, notes, traditional songs and more obtains huge amount of information about history of any culture. Someone believes that «If I get translated work, I will fully develop this culture because there is no difference between original and translated works». However mostly by listening or reading these reworked materials, you would not be able to experience emotions and situation that author wanted to convey. In vocabulary of any culture there are a lot of words that cannot be originally translated in other language, with their meaning. So, translators trying to transfer meaning of some sentences by using the most relative words, but not transferring it fully. Or reworked traditional songs cannot give to listener emotions and atmosphere, that original work could provide.

The most insightful approach to understanding traditions and customs of any culture is to communicate with residents of country. By looking at them you already can notify their habits, but only surface. To fully understand their culture: humor, traditions, hidden meaning you should understand language. For instance, in Kazakhstan when guests sits at owners table, the eldest male starts reading «bata», it is blessing for everyone who is sitting at the table. By using translator you would understand words, but not the meaning.

In conclusion, I absolutely agree that you should learn nation’s language to fully comprehend their culture, due to huge amount of benefits that language proficiency provides.